Skip to content

For Future Reference

November 18, 2012

More of artist’s work here.

This is going to be a very dense post, but let me start with saying that this is one of the best quote-slash-advice that I’ve read in a very long time. And believe me, I’ve read a number of sappy inspirational quotes in my lifetime. I think there was actually a point wherein I lived off such sayings. One particular kind of quotations I can never stray away from would be regarding success and hard work. I envision so much for myself, and sometimes it can get really frustrating. I’m not the most talented person out there; in fact, my only talent just might be public speaking – and I don’t even know if that’s a talent. I do want a lot of things for myself, and for the longest time the only way I know how to get there is through hard work. Whether it be emotional, financial or social, those are the two concepts I hold onto.

When I was a sophomore in high school, I was crazy obsessed with staying on top, being the best, and beating the rest. I was maniac about being number one, and didn’t care what I had to do to get there. I planned way ahead for college, (hopefully) medical school, and my soon-to-be career. Note that this was all in the head of a then 14 year-old girl. It was driving everyone nuts, and I was driving myself crazy. One of my more optimistic friends came up to me and smiled at what I was doing. I don’t know how she stayed so positive; I was aggressive, selfish and closed-minded. I had a one way road to success and for the most part didn’t care what everyone else thought. So this good friend of mine actually said, ‘If you’re happy with what you’re doing don’t stop. If this is how you’ll get to your career, then just continue. Remember that if you love your job you will never work a single day of your life.’ That stuck to me like a leech. She was right, and that was actually the first time I heard such saying.

Right now I’m in college majoring in Biology, volunteering at medical-related institutions, and studying my butt of to look good for med school. And I’ve never been happier. I may not have time to get up, dress up, and hit the mall. Nor do I have the time to date men or put myself out there, but I like where I’m at. I took my friends advice about following the road I want to be on, and here I am. Satisfied and excited than ever.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

