Skip to content

Why I Write

February 17, 2013

I’ve always wondered why people write. Just type in words, let their imagination run wild, and have their thoughts flow unto the keyboard or paper. Although it’s becoming such a trend nowadays, writing’s always been a form of comfort for me. I’ve never been into writing poetry, stories or just anything creative. Usually I sit down grab my laptop or a piece of pen and paper and let my thoughts out. I’m not one who can be creative nor do I have a vivid imagination; I’m straightforward, blunt and dull. The thing is, I just have too many thoughts running around my head that it’s a necessity for me to let it out. I don’t let anyone read them though, that would be too awkward. This blog is a way to open up more. I like how things flow here, and how nothing really snowballs into an avalanche.

So here are 4 reasons why I write:

1. I want to be comfortable with my writing.

My English 101 professor once told me that I have developed a distinct voice in my writing. She had confidence in what I wrote more than I could muster for myself. I’ve never been in tune with the free-flowing of my thoughts, and I have this crazy idea that the more I  write, my comfortability with myself also heightens. I don’t think I’m at that confident point yet, although I must say when I look back and read through my posts I swear there’s a small voice in my head on replay.

2. My mind has too much thoughts that cannot be left unsaid.

Is there a collective term for people who have too much thought running around? I’ve never seen it as a problem, except when I’m in a middle of a speech or important academic meeting that I have all these thoughts suddenly pour out of me. I needed to do something that left me unfiltered, yet I needed to organize my thoughts. When everything’s so muddled up, the only thing I could do was take pieces out and untangle everything. Writing is my form of untangling. I think everyone has their way of dealing with chaotic nonsense, right?

3. It’s purging.

Ever since I moved and started college there have been a number of rough days. Letting things out by way of words and reading about how I feel afterwards just feels so purging. I don’t know what I’d do if I kept everything inside without no one knowing. I might be a walking zombie apocalypse by then; all 5’3″ and 120 pounds full of bitter sad realities. Taking the time to make hot cocoa or tea and just sitting down letting the words flow is my form of stress relief.

4. I like to record moments.

As we grow older, time tends to run at a much faster pace. I like to take note of everything around me. I do this not for others, but for myself in the future. A little bit selfish, but hey we all have our weird reasons. It’s funny when I look back at when I was 8 years old, I had so much time in my hands! I could go outside, play with my friends and just walk around the neighborhood. Now it’s 2013 , and I’m trying to slow down every minute of growing up. I’m almost through with my freshman year of college and I can still vividly remember my freshman year of high school! I know I talk about graduating and getting my degree so fast that it’s like I’m on a wild goose chase for a diploma that shouldn’t even be with me until 2016. I find that I do let myself rush too much and the ability to just sit down and type gives me a reality check. This is my form of being human for a little while.

Makes so much more sense now does it?

Live your dreams. Write.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    February 17, 2013 3:48 am

    Writing is definitely different to every person, but I agree with a lot of what you are saying here. I love the fact that writing can preserve our memories in a unique way. Writing allows to not only remember the event but the feelings, thoughts, and emotions that accompanied it. It’s pretty cool. I hand write my journals, and that makes them even more precious to me.

Leave a Reply

