Skip to content

Growing Up

March 18, 2013

Seventeen years and I’m still trying to figure out if growing up is actually necessary or even optional. Most people can’t wait to turn 18… not me. I’d like to stay 17 for as long as I possible thank you very much. I mean there’s really no significance to this number; it’s kind of a bridge from crazy teenager to crazy legal adult. Also, you can’t even really do much when you’re 18. I mean everything’s available to you at 21, but my whole point just goes back to staying a kid forever. I don’t want to have to think of old people stuff and worry about problem after problem. I just want time to slow down and not have existential rises chase after me like I’m some fat pig waiting to be man slaughtered.

This whole growing up thing is a bit too ironic, but let’s face it we all have that moment of breakdown when we’re on the bridge between childhood and adulthood. Questions like “What’s next? Who are we going to be? What’s the next step?! Apples or Oranges?!” emerge and just eat us up. I wish there was some file cabinet in our brain that could answer every question we had. Don’t you just wish everything made sense?! Being an adult is inevitable, we’ve all got to face it somehow and responsibilities are just going to pile up. Frankly, I don’t know how to approach this upcoming stage in my life, and I could only hope it won’t be such a rollercoaster as everyone describes it to be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2013 3:26 am

    It can be a roller coaster, but it doesn’t have to be. Hell, I’m only just about to turn 20 this year, so I’m not too far away from where you’re at. I still don’t know what I want out of life or what the next steps of my life are going to be.

    But that’s okay. Remember that. You don’t need to plan decades ahead of you. This doesn’t mean you can abuse that silly YOLO phrase and waste away your time. No. This means take a breath and enjoy the moment. You’re only this age once. Just be. That’s it. Go with the flow and don’t sweat this adulthood stuff. Hell, most seasoned “adults” in our society are still trying to figure it out.

    • March 18, 2013 3:57 am

      That makes so much more sense, and I’m probably still be wondering about where my life is taking me well into my 20’s. I guess my “go with the flow” right now is to get past college and hopefully come out in one piece. Thanks for the advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

