Skip to content

Control & Careers

June 19, 2013

So I joined this Biomedical summer program at my college for the summer and I’ve really been enjoying it. It’s only been my second week but I feel like science is where I belong. Yes I actually enjoy running gels (DNA is fun!) and dissecting a fetal pig, but this career is way more than what I’ve expected it to be. I’m only experiencing a tiny part of what I wanna do for the rest of my life – that is to go into medicine – and it’s already taken up so much of my time and effort. What I’m trying to get at is that at some point in you’re life you’re going to have to make hard choices, and more often than not you’ll have to let go of something you’ve held onto for a very long time.

I look at my professors and I see competent, intelligent and adventurous people. I’m guessing most of them are single, so I have a pretty good idea of their commitment towards the sciences. This leads me to ask myself: am I willing to sacrifice time, energy and, yes, some of my wants to have the career that I’m aiming for? I didn’t even need a second to think about it; I was probably born to have a Type A personality. I want that medical career and the fulfillment that (hopefully will) come with it. But I also know that I have to put in double the time and double the effort for things to even be on the same path I want it to go on.

As this realization kicks in, I have to give myself multiple reality checks. Things won’t always go the way they’re planned, and it may even go haywire in the process. Be. Prepared. For. The. Worst. (I have got to start listing down my daily mantras, they’re piling up!) Okay, so I know most people already have this kind of mindset-slash-expectations, but there are (and I am positive there are) people who focus too much, give up too much and fail drastically. Reality is unsettling but it can also be reformed or even fixed. I have one simple approach to this situation: make sure you have plan A to Z. As sad as that sounds, that really is my approach so I hope it helps!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

